Sunday, December 20, 2015

Punjab District Bhawalpur Profile Summary General Knowledge

District Profile
Population2.433 Million
Area24830 Sq.Km
Union Councils107
Boundaries EasetBahawalpur
WestRahim Yarkhan
SouthPak-India Borders
Head WorksHeadIslam (Hasilpur)
HeadPunjnad (APE)
Police Stations21


is located in the province of Punjab, is the twelfth largestcity in Pakistan.The city was once the capital of the former princely state of Bahawalpur.

The name, Bahawalpur,has been derived from Ameer Muhammad Bahawal Khan, the eldest son of AmeerSadiq Muhammad Khan who founded the city of Bahawalpur.In 1847 Bahawalpur Municipal Board was established and under Municipal Act,1943 Municipal

Committee Bahawalpurcame into being Municipal Committee was upgraded the status of MunicipalCorporation during the year 1987.

At present the district Bahawalpurconsists of six Sub Divisions

i.e Bahawalpur City, BahawalpurSadar, Ahmedpur East, Yazman, Hasilpur and Khairpur

As per census of 1998, the population ofBahawalpur City was 377467 and presently approximately 5072284 by increasing 3%annually

The area of Bahawalpuris 2372 Sq: Kilometer.

Buildings, places built by the formerRulers of Ex-Bahawalpur State have prime importance for Bahawalpur City.Noor Mahal, Darbar Mahal Gulzar Mahal and Doulat Khana are remarkable in thesebuildings.

Saraiki is the local language, whileUrdu and English are official languages used in various educational andgovernment institutions.

Bahawalpur is located south of the Sutlej Riverand lies in the Cholistan region near the Thar Desert. It issituated 90 km from Multan, 420 km from Lahore,270 km from Faisalabad

Easet: Bahawalpur
West: Rahim Yar khan
North: Lodhran-Vehari
South: Pak-India Borders


Post a Comment