Friday, November 2, 2012

General Knowledge about Canada

Canada  is a North American country
It consists of ten provinces and three territories
The ten provinces are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick,
Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
The three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.
Its Capital city is Ottawa and its Largest city is Toronto
Canada is a federal state governed as a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy,
with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state
In practice,executive powers is directed by the Cabinet, a committee of ministers of the Crown responsible to the elected House of Commons and chosen and headed by the Prime Minister of Canada the head of government.
Its Currency is Canadian dollar
Its area is 9,984,670 km2
Its population is 34,964,000
The name Canada comes from the St. Lawrence Iroquoian word kanata, meaning "village" or "settlement
Official language are English and French
Canada is a member of the G7, G8, G20, NATO, OECD, WTO, Commonwealth of Nations, Francophonie, OAS, APEC,
and the United Nations.
Canada parliament consists of
The Canadian monarch represented by Governor general
The Senate
and the House of Commons
There are 105 members of the upper house
There are 308 members of the lower house
The upper house of the Parliament of Canada, the Senate, is a group of 105 individuals appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister


Post a Comment