Thursday, January 26, 2012



Malaysia is on the Malay Peninsula in southeast Asia. The nation also includes Sabah and Sarawak on the island of Borneo to the east. Its area slightly exceeds that of New Mexico.
Most of Malaysia is covered by forest, with a mountain range running the length of the peninsula. Extensive forests provide ebony, sandalwood, teak, and other wood.


Constitutional monarchy.

Head of State: Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin ibni al-Marhum Sultan Mahmud (2006)

Prime Minister: Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak (2009)

total area: 329,750 sq km

Population (2010 est.): 26,160,256

growth rate: 1.7%

Capital and largest city: Kuala Lumpur

Currency: Ringgit

Languages: Bahasa Melayu (Malay, official), English, Chinese dialects (Cantonese, Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka, Hainan, Foochow), Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai; several indigenous languages (including Iban, Kadazan) in East Malaysia

Religions: Muslim, Buddhist, Daoist, Hindu, Christian, Sikh; Shamanism (East Malaysia)

National Holiday: Independence Day/Malaysia Day, August 31

Literacy rate: 89% (2003 est.)


Post a Comment