Thursday, January 26, 2012



Smallest of the Scandinavian countries (half the size of Maine), Denmark occupies the Jutland peninsula, a lowland area. The country also consists of several islands in the Baltic Sea; the two largest are Sjælland, the site of Copenhagen, and Fyn.


Constitutional monarchy.  

Sovereign: Queen Margrethe II (1972)

Prime Minister: Anders Fogh Rasmussen (2001)

total area: 16,639 sq mi (43,094 sq km)1

Population (2010 est.): 5,515,575 (growth rate: 0.2%); birth rate: 10.4/1000; infant mortality rate: 4.3/1000; life expectancy: 78.4; density per sq mi: 129

Capital and largest city .Copenhagen, 1,094,400

Other large cities: Århus, 220,700; Odense, 144,600; Ålborg, 120,600

Monetary unit: Krone

National name: Kongeriget Danmark

Languages: Danish, Faroese, Greenlandic (Inuit dialect), German; English is the predominant second language

National Holiday: Constitution Day, June 5

Religions: Evangelical Lutheran 95%, other Protestant and Roman Catholic 3%, Muslim 2%

Literacy rate: 100%


Post a Comment