Sunday, January 15, 2012

Australia Country MCQs General Knowledge

Capital     Canberra
Largest city     Sydney
National language     English
Government     Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Monarch     Elizabeth II
Governor-General     Sir Peter Cosgrove
Prime Minister     Tony Abbott
Chief Justice     Robert French
Legislature     Parliament
Upper house     Senate
Lower house     House of Representatives
Independence from the United Kingdom
Federation, Constitution     1 January 1901
Statute of Westminster Adoption Act     9 October 1942 (with effect
from 3 September 1939)
Australia Act     3 March 1986
Total     7,692,024 km2 (6th)
2,969,907 sq mi
2015 estimate     23,712,200
Currency     Australian dolla

Some Important
It is the world's sixth-largest country by total area
On 1 January 1901, the six colonies federated, forming the Commonwealth of Australia.. 
Australia is a developed country and one of the wealthiest in the world, with the world's 12th-largest economy. In 2012 Australia had the world's fifth-highest per capita income.Australia's military expenditure is the world's 13th-largest.
Australia is a constitutional monarchy with a federal division of powers.
  • The legislature: the bicameral Parliament, the Senate, and the House of Representatives;
  • The executive: the Federal Executive Council, in practice the Governor-General as advised by the Prime Minister and Ministers of State
  • The judiciary: the High Court of Australia and other federal courts. 
In the Senate there are 76 senators: twelve each from the states and two each from the mainland territories (the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory). The House of Representatives (the lower house) has 150 members.

Australia has six states—New South Wales (NSW), Queensland (QLD), South Australia (SA), Tasmania (TAS), Victoria (VIC) and Western Australia (WA)—and two major mainland territories—the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory (NT). 


Post a Comment