Monday, November 14, 2011

Shangla District

Shangla District is located in the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan. The district headquarters are located at Alpuri. It was previously a subdivision of Swat District, but was upgraded to the status of a district on July 10, 1995 by the then Chief Minister Aftab Khan Sherpao. The total area of the district is 1,586 square kilometres. Pashto is spoken by most of the population. Shangla comprises two sub division, Alpuri and Puran Tehsil. There are four (4) sub tehsils i.e. Besham, Chakesar, Martung and Makhuzai. Shangla has the lowest Human Development Index in the province and second lowest in the country.

Under the devolved local government system Shangla is divided into two Sub-Divivisions/Tehsils namely:-
  • Alpuri and
  • Puran Tehsil
and four (4) Sub-Tehsils, namely
  • Besham
  • Chakesar
  • Martung
  • Makhuzai
There are 28 Union Councils. Alpuri Tehsil (Sub division) consists of 19 Union Councils and Puran Tehsil (Sub-division) consists of 9 Union Councils.


Post a Comment