Monday, November 14, 2011

Haripur District

Haripur  is a district in the Hazara region of Khyber-Pukhtunkhwa, province of Pakistan with an altitude of around 610 metres (2,000 ft) above sea level. Haripur District has the highest Human Development Index of all the districts in the Hazara.

The District of Haripur was a Tehsil, or sub-division of Abbottabad District, until 1992 when it separated and became a district in its own right. The district is presently (2010–2011) represented in the provincial assembly by four elected MPAs. One Member is elected to the National/Federal Assembly from the district.
Haripur District is divided into two tehsils, further subdivided into 44 Union Councils of which 15 are urban Union Councils.

Ghazi Tehsil

Ghazi Tehsil is divided into eight Union Councils:
  • Baitgali
  • Ghazi
  • Kotehrra
  • Kundi
  • Nara Amazai
  • Qazipur
  • Sirikot
  • Kherbara

Total1,725 km2 (666 sq mi)
Population (2005)


Post a Comment