Monday, November 14, 2011

Districts Abbotabad

The district covers an area of 1,969 km with the cityof Abbottabadbeing the principal town.Neighbouring districts are Mansehrato the north, Muzaffarabad to the east, Haripurto the west, and Rawalpindi to the south.

The district is named after Major James Abbott, the firstdeputy commissioner of Hazara (1849–1853).

Miranjani (3,313m) and Mukeshpuriare the highest peaks in this district.

Abbottabad district is divided into two tehsils, Abbottabadand Havelianas well as one urban administration area – Nawanshehr.There are fifty-one Union Councils in the district, 35 inAbbottabad tehsil and 16 in Havelian.


Post a Comment