Friday, August 12, 2011

Administrative divisions of india

Administrative divisions

India is a federation composed of 28 states and 7 union territories. All states, as well as the union territories of Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have elected legislatures and governments, both patterned on the Westminster model. The remaining five union territories are directly ruled by the Centre through appointed administrators. In 1956, under the States Reorganisation Act, states were reorganised on a linguistic basis Since then, their structure has remained largely unchanged. Each state or union territory is further divided into administrative districts The districts in turn are further divided into tehsils and ultimately into villages.

The 28 states and 7 union territories of India
1.      Andhra Pradesh
2.      Arunachal Pradesh
3.      Assam
4.      Bihar
5.      Chhattisgarh
6.      Goa
7.      Madhy Pradesh
  1. Haryana

  2. Himachal Pradesh

  3. Jammu and Kashmir

  4. Jharkhand

  5. Karnataka

  6. Kerala

  7. Punjab

15.  Maharashtra
16.  Manipur
17.  Meghalaya
18.  Mizoram
19.  Nagaland
20.  Orissa
21.  Rajasthan
22.  Sikkim
23.  Tamil Nadu
24.  Tripura
25.  UttarPradesh
26.  Uttarakhand
27.  27.West Bengal
28.  28.Gujarat

Union Territories:
A.     Andaman and Nicobar Islands
B.     Chandigarh
C.     Dadra and Nagar Haveli
D.     Daman and Diu
E.      Lakshadweep
F.      National Capital Territory of Delhi
G.      D.Puducherry


Post a Comment